Did Screech blow the call?
With NASCAR champion Austin Dillon on hand to wave the checkered flag Wednesday, race judge Screech was unusually liberated to focus on making the correct call.
Yet many on hand, including the MASN play-by-play team of Bob Carpenter and F.P. Santangelo, felt that George Washington was robbed when Screech awarded the ‘W’ to Thomas Jefferson.
George reached out and grabbed the tape as he fell forward across the finish line, but even the slo-mo replay below is inconclusive as to whether Jefferson had already touched the tape.
Video #2 courtesy of YouTube member lfahome